WHAT’S ON IN TORONTO – JANUARY/2018 (CLICK ON WEBSITES BELOW FOR INFO, TIMES & TICKETS)

LARGE THEATRES
*Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts (Opera House), 145 Queen St. W., http://www.coc.ca & http://www.national.ballet.ca
*Royal Alexandra Theatre, 260 King St. W., http://www.mirvish.com
*Fleck Dance Theatre, 207 Queens Quay W., http://www.harbourfrontcentre.com/venues/fleckdancetheatre/
*Princess of Wales Theatre, 300 King St. W., http://www.mirvish.com
*CAA (formerly Panasonic) Theatre, 651 Yonge St., http://www.mirvish.com
*Young Centre for the Performing Arts, Distillery District, http://www.soulpepper.ca
*St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts, 27 Front St. E., http://www.stlc.com
*Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, 1 Front St. E., http://www.sonycentre.ca
*Winter Garden Theatre, 189 Yonge Street, http://www.ticketmaster.ca
*Elgin Theatre, 189 Yonge Street, http://www.ticketmaster.ca
*Young People’s Theatre, 165 Front St. E., http://www.youngpeoplestheatre.ca
*Toronto Centre for the Arts, 5040 Yonge St., http://www.tocentre.com
*Streetcar Crow’s Theatre, 345 Carlaw Av., http://www.crowstheatre.com
*Berkeley Street Theatre, 26 Berkeley St., http://www.ticketmaster.ca

MORE THEATRES
*Lower Ossington Theatre, 100a Ossington Ave., http://www.lowerossingtontheatre.com
*Factory Theatre, 125 Bathurst Street, http://www.factorytheatre.ca
*MacMillan Theatre, Faculty of Music, University of Toronto, http://www.music.utoronto.ca
*Theatre Passe Muraille, 16 Ryerson Avenue, http://www.passemuraille.on.ca
*Toronto Dance Theatre, 80 Winchester St., Cabbagetown, http://www.tdt.org
*Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 12 Alexander St., http://www.buddiesinbadtimes.com
*Cahoots Theatre Company, staging diversity, 388 Queen St. E., http://www.cahoots.ca
*The Theatre Centre, 1115 Queen St. W., http://www.theatrecentre.org
– Storefront Theatre, 955 Bloor St. W., https://wwww.facebook.com/TheStorefrontTheatre
*Coal Mine Theatre, 1454 Danforth Av., http://www.coalminetheatre.com
*Tarragon Theatre, 30 Bridgman Ave., http://www.tarragontheatre.com
*Red Sandcastle Theatre, 922 Queen St. E., http://www.redsandcastletheatre.com
*Alumnae Theatre, 70 Berkeley Street, http://www.alumnaetheatre.com

CONCERT HALLS
*Trinity-St. Paul’s Centre, 427 Bloor St. W., http://www.trinitystpauls.ca
*Roy Thomson Hall, 60 Simcoe Street, http://www.roythomson.com
*Glenn Gould Studio, CBC Broadcasting Centre, 250 Front St. W., http://www.cbc.ca/glenngould
*The Opera House, 735 Queen St. East, http://www.theoperahousetoronto.com
*Harbourfront Centre, 235 Queens Quay West, http://www.harbourfrontcentre.com
*Hugh’s Room, 2261 Dundas St. W., http://www.hughsroom.com
*Koerner Hall, 273 Bloor St. West, http://www.performance.rcmusic.ca
*Massey Hall, 178 Victoria Street, http://www.masseyhall.com
*Danforth Music Hall, 147 Danforth Av., http://www.thedanforth.com

CENTRAL CITY CINEMAS
*Mount Pleasant Cinema, 675 Mount Pleasant Road, big screen, 2nd run features, some European films, etc., https://www.cinemaclock.com/ont/toronto/theatres/mount-pleasant
*Carlton Cinemas, 9 screens, fully licensed, $5 Tuesdays, 20 Carlton Street, https://imaginecinemas.com
*Market Square Cinemas, 80 Front Street East, several screens, https://imaginecinemas.com/cinema/market-square/
*Regent Cinema, 551 Mount Pleasant Road, 2nd run features, big screen, https://www.cinemaclock.com/ont/toronto/theatres/regent
*TIFF Bell Lightbox, 5 cinemas, movies that don’t play in the multiplex, for times and schedule go to http://www.tiff.net
*Hot Docs Ted Rogers Cinema, specializing in documentaries and films seldom shown in the multiplex, 506 Bloor Street West, https://www.cinemaclock.com/theatres/hot-docs-ted-rogers-cinema
*Revue Cinema, 400 Roncesvalles Avenue, neighbourhood cinema, second-run, docmentary & foreign features, http://www.revuecinema.ca
*Royal Cinema, documentaries, festivals, foreign, second-run features, 608 College Street, http://www.theroyal.to
*Ontario Science Center Omnimax,770 Don Mills Road, https://www.ontariosciencecentre.ca/imax
*Scotiabank Toronto Imax, 259 Richmond Street West, http://www.imax.com/theatres/scotiabank-toronto-imax

MUSEUMS AND ART GALLERIES
*Aga Khan Museum, 77 Wynford Drive, http://www.agakhanmuseum.org
*Art Gallery of Ontario, 317 Dundas Street West, http://www.ago.ca
*Black Creek Pioneer Village, heritage museum, partly outdoors, 1000 Murray Ross Parkway, http://www.blackcreek.ca
*Fort York National Historic Site, 250 Fort York Boulevard, http://www.fortyork.ca
*Hockey Hall of Fame, 30 Yonge Street, http://www.hhof.com
*MZTV Museum of Television, 64 Jefferson Ave., Liberty Village, http://www.mztv.com
*Ontario Science Centre, 770 Don Mills Road, http://www.ontariosciencecentre.ca
*Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada Museum & Archives, https://www.qormuseum.org
*Royal Ontario Museum, 100 Queens Park, http://www.rom.on.ca
*Spadina House Museum and gardens, 235 Spadina Rd., 416-392-6910
*Casa Loma, 1 Austin Terrace, Toronto’s castle, http://www.casaloma.ca
*Textile Museum of Canada, 55 Centre Street, http://www.textilemuseum.ca
*Varley Art Gallery of Markham, 216 Main Street, Markham, http://www.varleygallery.ca
*Art Gallery of Mississauga, http://www.artgalleryofmississauga.com
*McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Kleinburg, http://www.mcmichael.com
*Art Gallery of Hamilton, 123 King St. West, Hamilton, http://www.artgalleryofhamilton.com
* Justina M. Barnicke Gallery, University of Toronto, 7 Hart House Circle, http://www.arts.utoronto.ca/galleries.htm

GLBTQ (gay, lesbian, bi, transgendered, queer, etc.)
*Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, 2nd largest in the world, 34 Isabella Street, http://www.clga.ca
*Legit, 2nd Thursday monthly, immigration legal counsel, 519 Centre, 519 Church Street, http://www.legit.ca
*Metropolitan Community Church (MCC), 115 Simpson Avenue, just above Gerrard St. East, http://www.mcctoronto.com
*Out and Out, LGBTQ outdoors club, http://www.outandout.ca
*Pink Pages, gay, lesbian, trans, bi, leather, queer directory, http://www.thepinkpagesdirectory.com
*ProudFM 103.9, Toronto’s LGBTQ radio station, http://www.proudfm.com
*Rainbow Railroad, a charity which helps individuals in countries where being LGBTQ invites violence, imprisonment or even death, http://www.rainbowrailroad.ca
*Righteously Outrageous Twirling Corps, http://www.rotctoronto.com
*Xtra magazine, gay news from Toronto, Vancouver & Ottawa, http://www.xtra.ca/toronto.aspx

OTHER GOOD STUFF
*Ongoing – TAPto free walking tours by Toronto Greeters, book online at http://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=e14d3a2f287c1410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD
*Ongoing – Toronto Transit Commission Day Pass, $12.50, a single-user pass on week days on the subway, streetcars & buses, Group/Family Day Passes on weekends & statutory holidays – https://www.ttc.ca/Fares_and_passes/Passes/Day_Pass/index.jsp
*Free Arts in the Parks, concerts, films and arts of all kinds, for full events listings and details go to http://www.artsintheparksto.org
*Until January 21 – Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival, Bell Lightbox, 350 King St. West, http://www.tiff.net/seethenorth
*Until January 21 – Toronto International Boat Show, 550 exhibitors, Enercare Centre, Exhibition Place, http://www.torontoboatshow.com
*Until February 25 – Waterfront Ice Breakers, Constellation-themed outdoor ice installations, Queens Quay, http://www.waterfrontbia.com
*Until March 4 – Toronto Light Festival, 27 light art installations, The Distillery District, free, http://www.torontolightfest.com
*Until March 18 – Winter at Ontario Place, light installations, synthetic skating rink, film screenings at Cinesphere, bonfires, etc., Ontario Place, 955 Lakeshore Boulevard West, free, http://www.ontarioplace.com/winter
*Edgewalk, CN Tower, walk around the edge of our tallest free-standing structure, http://www.edgewalkcntower.ca
*Sunday Antique Market, free, Jarvis Street south of King
*Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada, 288 Bremner Boulevard, at the bottom of the CN Tower, http://www.ripleyaquariums.com/canada

TORONTO SAVVY is now on the UK-based website ‘Walked Thru’ – http://www.walkedthru.com

The Scarborough Bluffs are a major natural site on the shores of Lake Ontario.  But for those without a car, they’re not so easy to reach.  The TORONTO Transit Commission (TTC) is looking into a city bus route, linking TORONTO with the Bluffs.  This could prove to be a popular tourist attraction.

<“IN THE HOLE”, New Yorker cover, January 22/2018, by ANTHONY RUSSO>

Harbourfront Centre. 235 Queens Quay West, is staging “LEAR”, an adaptation of William Shakespeare’s “King Lear”, until January 28/2018. Seana McKenna assumes the role of Lear, who’s transformed into a queen, a matriarch and a power-suited executive, with a passing resemblance to Hillary Clinton or Theresa May. Director – Graham Abbey.  <PHOTO – Anthony Russo>

METRO LINX has launched a $10-million program for eight artworks in six Crosstown LRT stations. The $5.3-billion line under and above Eglinton Avenue, will consist of 25 stations, and will cross the city from the west end to Scarborough.

Above – a rendering of “Light From Within” by Rodney LaTourelle and Louise Witthsft, to be installed at Eglinton Station.

<“#METOO DEBATE GETTING MORE SPIRITED” – editorial cartoon, Globe and Mail, BRIAN GABLE, January 17/2018>

Advertisements