WHAT’S ON IN TORONTO – DECEMBER/2018 (CLICK ON WEBSITES BELOW FOR MORE INFO, TIMES & TICKETS)

LARGE THEATRES
*Berkeley Street Theatre, 26 Berkeley Street, http://www.canadianstage.com
*Bluma Appel Theatre, 27 Front Street East, http://www.canadianstage.com
*CAA (formerly Panasonic) Theatre, 651 Yonge St., http://www.mirvish.com
*Elgin Theatre, 189 Yonge Street, http://www.ticketmaster.ca
*Fleck Dance Theatre, 207 Queens Quay W., http://www.harbourfrontcentre.com/venues/fleckdancetheatre/
*Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts (Opera House), 145 Queen St. W., http://www.coc.ca
*Princess of Wales Theatre, 300 King St. W., http://www.mirvish.com
*Royal Alexandra Theatre, 260 King St. W., http://www.mirvish.com
*Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, 1 Front St. E., http://www.sonycentre.ca
*Streetcar Crow’s Theatre, 345 Carlaw Av., http://www.crowstheatre.com
*St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts, 27 Front St. E., http://www.stlc.com
*Toronto Centre for the Arts, 5040 Yonge St., http://www.tocentre.com
*Winter Garden Theatre, 189 Yonge Street, http://www.ticketmaster.ca
*Young Centre for the Performing Arts, Distillery District, http://www.soulpepper.ca
*Young People’s Theatre, 165 Front Street East, https://tickets.youngpeoplestheatre.ca/TheatreManager/1/online

MORE THEATRES
*Alumnae Theatre, 70 Berkeley Street, http://www.alumnaetheatre.com
*Bad Dog Comedy Theatre, 875 Bloor Street West, http://www.baddogtheatre.com
*Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 12 Alexander St., http://www.buddiesinbadtimes.com
*Cahoots Theatre Company, staging diversity, 388 Queen St. E., http://www.cahoots.ca
*Coal Mine Theatre, 1454 Danforth Av., http://www.coalminetheatre.com
*Factory Theatre, 125 Bathurst Street, http://www.factorytheatre.ca
*Hart House Theatre, 7 Hart House Circle, University of Toronto, http://harthouse.ca/hart-house-theatre/
*Lower Ossington Theatre, 100a Ossington Ave., http://www.lowerossingtontheatre.com
*MacMillan Theatre, Faculty of Music, University of Toronto, http://www.music.utoronto.ca
*National Ballet of Canada, Four Seasons Centre, 145 Queen Street West, https://national.ballet.ca
*Red Sandcastle Theatre, 922 Queen St. E., http://www.redsandcastletheatre.com
*Rose Theatre, 1 Theatre Lane, Brampton, Ontario, http://www.brampton.ca/sites/rose-theatre/en/Pages/Welcome.aspx
*Second City, sketch comedy theatre that’s launched many careers, 51 Mercer Street, http://www.secondcity.com
*Shaw Festival Theatres, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, https://www.shawfest.com/
*Stratford Festival Theatres, Stratford, Ontario, https://www.stratfordfestival.ca/WhatsOn/ThePlays?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIhqTVruSJ2QIVV7nACh2_pA41EAAYAyAAEgKAZ_D_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
*Storefront Theatre, 955 Bloor Street West, pushes creative boundaries, an original, http://www.thestorefronttheatre.com
*Tarragon Theatre, 30 Bridgman Ave., http://www.tarragontheatre.com
*Theatre Centre, 1115 Queen St. W., http://www.theatrecentre.org
*Theatre Passe Muraille, 16 Ryerson Avenue, http://www.passemuraille.on.ca
*Toronto Dance Theatre, 80 Winchester St., Cabbagetown, http://www.tdt.org
*Yuk Yuk’s Comedy Club, 224 Richmond St. West, https://www.yukyuks.com/toronto

CONCERT HALLS
*Danforth Music Hall, 147 Danforth Av., http://www.thedanforth.com
*George Weston Recital Hall, 5040 Yonge Street, http://www.tocentre.com/theatres/george-weston-recital-hall
*Glenn Gould Studio, CBC Broadcasting Centre, 250 Front St. W., http://www.cbc.ca/glenngould
*Harbourfront Centre, 235 Queens Quay West, http://www.harbourfrontcentre.com
*Hugh’s Room, 2261 Dundas St. W., http://www.hughsroom.com
*Koerner Hall, 273 Bloor Street West, http://www.rcmusic.com
*Massey Hall, 178 Victoria Street, http://www.masseyhall.com
*Opera House, 735 Queen St. East, http://theoperahouse.ticketoffices.com/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI4P_S_OGJ2QIVlLjACh0D0QC9EAAYASAAEgJVj_D_BwE
*Roy Thomson Hall, 60 Simcoe Street, http://www.roythomson.com
*Trinity-St. Paul’s Centre, 427 Bloor St. W., http://www.trinitystpauls.ca

CENTRAL CITY CINEMAS
*Carlton, 9 screens, fully licensed, $5 Tuesdays, 20 Carlton Street, https://imaginecinemas.com
*Hot Docs Ted Rogers, specializing in documentaries and films seldom shown in the multiplex, 506 Bloor Street West, https://www.cinemaclock.com/theatres/hot-docs-ted-rogers-cinema
*Market Square, 80 Front Street East, several screens, https://imaginecinemas.com/cinema/market-square/
*Mount Pleasant, 675 Mount Pleasant Road, big screen, 2nd run features, some European films, etc., https://www.cinemaclock.com/ont/toronto/theatres/mount-pleasant
*Ontario Science Centre Omnimax,770 Don Mills Road, https://www.ontariosciencecentre.ca/imax
*Regent, 551 Mount Pleasant Road, 2nd run features, big screen, https://www.cinemaclock.com/ont/toronto/theatres/regent
*Revue, 400 Roncesvalles Avenue, neighbourhood cinema, second-run, documentary & foreign features, http://www.revuecinema.ca
*Royal, documentaries, festivals, foreign, second-run features, 608 College Street, http://www.theroyal.to
*Scotiabank Toronto Imax (Cineplex), 259 Richmond Street West, multiplex & IMAX, 14 screens, http://www.imax.com/theatres/scotiabank-toronto-imax
*TIFF Bell Lightbox, 5 screens, movies that don’t play in the multiplex, for times and schedule go to http://www.tiff.net
*Varsity Cinemas (Cineplex), Manulife Centre, 55 Bloor Street West, 12 screens, https://www.cinemaclock.com/theatres/cineplex-varsity-vip
*Yonge-Dundas Cinemas (Cineplex), multiplex & IMAX, 26 screens, 10 Dundas Street East, http://www.imdb.com/showtimes/cinema/CA/ci25232552/CA/M6M1W6

MUSEUMS
*Aga Khan Museum, 77 Wynford Drive, http://www.agakhanmuseum.org
*Art Gallery of Hamilton, 123 King St. West, Hamilton, http://www.artgalleryofhamilton.com
*Art Gallery of Mississauga, http://www.artgalleryofmississauga.com
*Art Gallery of Ontario, 317 Dundas Street West, http://www.ago.ca
*Bata Shoe Museum, only two in the world, 327 Bloor St. West, http://www.batashoemuseum.ca
*Black Creek Pioneer Village, heritage museum, partly outdoors, 1000 Murray Ross Parkway, http://www.blackcreek.ca
*Casa Loma, 1 Austin Terrace, Toronto’s castle, http://www.casaloma.ca
*Fort York National Historic Site, 250 Fort York Boulevard, http://www.fortyork.ca
*Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Arts, 111 Queen’s Park, http://www.gardinermuseum.on.ca
*Hockey Hall of Fame, 30 Yonge Street, http://www.hhof.com
*Justina M. Barnicke Gallery, University of Toronto, 7 Hart House Circle, http://www.arts.utoronto.ca/galleries.htm
*Mackenzie House Museum, 82 Bond Street, interprets Victorian life of the 1860’s, 416-302-6915
*McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Kleinburg, http://www.mcmichael.com
*Metropolitan Toronto Police Museum & Discovery Centre, 40 College St., http://www.torontopolice.on.ca/museum
*MZTV Museum of Television, 64 Jefferson Ave., Liberty Village, http://www.mztv.com
*Ontario Science Centre, 770 Don Mills Road, http://www.ontariosciencecentre.ca
*Power Plant, Harbourfront Centre, 231 Queens Quay West, free, http://www.thepowerplant.org
*Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada Museum & Archives, https://www.qormuseum.org
*Royal Ontario Museum, 100 Queens Park, http://www.rom.on.ca
*Ryerson Image Centre (RIC), 33 Gould Street, large photography gallery, free admission, http://www.ryersonimagecentre.ca
*Spadina House Museum and gardens, 235 Spadina Rd., 416-392-6910, https://www.toronto.ca/explore-enjoy/history-art-culture/museums/spadina-museum/
*Textile Museum of Canada, 55 Centre Street, http://www.textilemuseum.ca
*The Modern.Toronto, a museum dedicated to abstract painting, The Mews, 68 Abell Street, http://www.themoderntoronto.ca
*Varley Art Gallery of Markham, 216 Main Street, Markham, http://www.varleygallery.ca
*Zwig Foundation Collection, The Mews, 68 Abell Street, Canadian & international art, http://www.zwigcollection.ca

ART GALLERIES
*A Space, established contemporary, 401 Richmond St. West, http://www.aspacegallery.org
*Barbara Edwards Contemporary, 1069 Bathurst Street, http://www.becontemporary.com
*Bay of Spirits, 156 Front St. West, First Nations art, http://www.bayofspirits.com
*Canadian Sculpture Centre, 500 Church Street, http://www.cansculpt.org
*Christopher Cutts, 21 Morrow Avenue, http://www.cuttsgallery.com
*Clint Roenisch, 190 St. Helens Avenue, contemporary, avant-garde, http://www.clintroenisch.com
*Corkin, 7 Tank House Lane, Distillery District, http://www.corkingallery.com
*Daniel Faria, contemporary, converted warehouse, 188 St. Helens Avenue, http://www.danielfariagallery.com
*Diaz Contemporary, 100 Niagara Street, http://www.diazcontemporary.ca
*Katharin Mulherin Contemporary Arts Projects, 1086 Queen St. West, http://katharinemulherin.com/
*Koffler Gallery, Artscape Youngplace, 180 Shaw Street, http://www.kofflerarts.org
*Mercer Union, contemporary art, 1286 Bloor St. West, http://www.mercerunion.org
*Mira Godard, 22 Hazelton Avenue, long-established, Canadian & international artists, http://www.godardgallery.com
*Olga Korper, 17 Morrow Avenue, long-established, http://www.olgakorpergallery.com
*Propeller Centre for the Visual Arts, 30 Abell Street, founded in 1996, http://www.propellerctr.com
*Sandra Ainsley, 100 Sunrise Avenue #150, leading dealer in contemporary glass, http://www.sandraainsleygallery.com
*Stephen Bulger, 1356 Dundas St. West, long-established photography gallery, http://www.bulgergallery.com
*Thompson Landry Gallery, 32 Distillery Lane, Distillery District, specializes in Quebec art, both contemporary & the masters, http://www.thompsonlandry.com

GLBTQ (gay, lesbian, bi, transgendered, queer, etc.)
*Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, 2nd largest in the world, 34 Isabella Street, http://www.clga.ca
*Legit, 2nd Thursday monthly, immigration legal counsel, 519 Centre, 519 Church Street, http://www.legit.ca
*Metropolitan Community Church (MCC), 115 Simpson Avenue, just above Gerrard St. East, http://www.mcctoronto.com
*Out and Out, LGBTQ outdoors club, http://www.outandout.ca
*Pink Pages, gay, lesbian, trans, bi, leather, queer directory, http://www.thepinkpagesdirectory.com
*ProudFM 103.9, Toronto’s LGBTQ radio station, http://www.proudfm.com
*Rainbow Railroad, a charity which helps individuals in countries where being LGBTQ invites violence, imprisonment or even death, http://www.rainbowrailroad.ca
*Righteously Outrageous Twirling Corps, http://www.rotctoronto.com
*Xtra magazine, gay news from Toronto, Vancouver & Ottawa, http://www.xtra.ca/toronto.aspx

OTHER GOOD STUFF
*Edgewalk, CN Tower, walk around the edge of our tallest free-standing structure, http://www.edgewalkcntower.ca
*Free Arts in the Parks, concerts, films and arts of all kinds, for full events listings and details go to http://www.artsintheparksto.org
*Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada, 288 Bremner Boulevard, at the bottom of the CN Tower, http://www.ripleyaquariums.com/canada
*Sunday Antique Market, free, Jarvis Street south of King
*TAPto free walking tours by Toronto Greeters, book online at https://www.toronto.ca/explore-enjoy/visitor-services/toronto-greeters-program/
*Toronto Transit Commission Day Pass, $12.50, a single-user pass on week days on the subway, streetcars & buses, Group/Family day passes on weekends & statutory holidays – https://www.ttc.ca/Fares_and_passes/Passes/Day_Pass/index.jsp
*Ongoing – tour the last operating double-decker theatre in the world, Elgin & Winter Garden Theatres, 189 Yonge St., Thursdays 5 pm; Saturdays 11 am, Ontario Heritage Trust, Details – http://www.heritagetrust.on.ca/en/index.php/ewg/ewg-home/tours
*Ongoing – Cavalcade of Lights, Nathan Phillips Square, 100 Queen Street West, http://www.toronto.ca/cavalcade
*December 20 – City Hall Christmas Concert, Toronto Mass Choir, Beaches Childrens & Youth Chorus, Pan Fantasy Steel Band, Tower Brass & TO Poet Laureate Anne Michaels, noon to 1 pm, 100 Queen ST. W., http://www.toronto.ca/christmasconcert
*December 22 – Sing-Along Messiah, Roy Thomson Hall, 2 pm, 60 Simcoe Street, http://www.tafelmusik.org/messiah
*December 18-23 – The Wonder Pageant, improv comedy, merry music, and holiday miracles, Coal Mine Theatre, 1454 Danforth Ave., http://www.coalminetheatre.com
*December 18-23 – Evergreen Brick Works Winter Village, family activities, skating rink, vendors, sustainable Christmas trees, 550 Bayview Avenue, http://www.evergreen.ca
*December 18-23 – Christmases Past at Blackcreek Pioneer Village, 100 Murray Ross Parkway, http://www.blackcreek.ca
*December 18-30 – Aurora Winter Festival, East Island, Ontario Place, family pass $60, http://www.aurorawinterfestival.com
*December 18 – January 5 – The Wizard of Oz, Ross Petty’s “toto-ly twisted family musical”, Elgin Theatre, 189 Yonge Street, http://www.rosspetty.com
*December 18 – January 6 – A Nutcracker Christmas at The Castle, Casa Loma, Santa’s castle and workshop, ice skating performers, illusionist Prof. Wick, 1 Austin Terrace, http://www.casaloma.ca
*December 18 – January 6 – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Princess of Wales Theatre, 300 King St. W., http://www.mirvish.com
*December 18 – January 6 – School of Rock, Ed Mirvish Theatre, 244 Victoria Street, http://www.mirvish.com
*Ongoing – David Milne: Modern Painting, over 100 works, photos, drawings & memorabilia, McMichael Gallery in Kleinburg, Ontario, http://www.mcmichael.com
*Ongoing – ‘Obsession’, Sir William Van Horne’s Japanese ceramics collection, Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Arts, 111 Queen’s Park, http://www.gardinermuseum.on.ca
*Ongoing – The Best Is Yet To Come Undone, Second City, 51 Mercer Street, http://www.secondcity.com
*Ongoing – ‘Spiders – Fear and Fascination’, Royal Ontario Museum, 100 Queens Park, http://www.rom.ca
*December 18,19 – Buddy For The Holly-Days, musical revue about 50’s rock ’n’ roller Buddy Holly, Randolph Theatre, 736 Bathurst St., tickets – http://www.lowerossingtontheatre.com
*December 19 – Handel Messiah: Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra & Chamber Choir, Koerner Hall, 273 Bloor St. West, 7:30 pm, http://www.performance.rcmusic.ca
*December 18-22 – A Christmas Carol, Campbell House Museum, 7 and 9 pm, 160 Queen St. West, 416-597-0227, extension #2
*December 18-23 – The Christmas Story, annual nativity pageant with professional musicians & a volunteer cast, Church of the Holy Trinity, 10 Trinity Square, http://www.thechristmasstory.ca
*December 18-30 – The Nutcracker, James Kudelka version, National Ballet of Canada at the Four Seasons Centre, 145 Queen St. West, https://national.ballet.ca
*December 31 – City of Toronto New Years Eve blowout at Nathan Phillips Square, skating party, fireworks, concerts galore, Cadence Weapon, DJ Money Jane, DJ Mel Boogie, 100 Queen Street West, http://www.toronto.ca/newyearseve
*December 18 – January 5 – Peter Pan, the musical, Young Centre for the Performing Arts, Tank House Lane, Distillery District, http://www.soulpepper.ca
*December 18 – January 6 – the 7 Fingers’ “Traces and Cuisine and Confessions) returns with a brand new show, CAA Theatre, 651 Yonge Street, http://www.mirvish.com
*December 18 – January 6 – ‘Anthropocene’, part documentary, part art show, the landscapes we destroy in order to live, Art Gallery of Ontario, 317 Dundas Street West, http://www.ago.ca
*December 18 – January 6 – Mary Poppins, starring Vanessa Sears of the Shaw Festival, Young People’s Theatre, 165 Front Street East, http://www.youngpeoplestheatre.ca
*December 18 – January 6 – School of Rock by Andrew Lloyd Webber, Ed Mirvish Theatre, 244 Victoria Street, http://www.mirvish.com
*December 18 – January 6 – Manolo Blahnik: The Art of Shoes, Bata Shoe Museum, 327 Bloor Street West, http://www.batashoemuseum.ca
*December 19 – January 6 – Champions of Magic, Bluma Appel Theatre, 27 Front St. E., http://www.championsofmagic.co.uk
*December 18 – March 17 – Winter at Ontario Place, light installations, bonfires, skating, films at the Cinesphere, http://www.ontarioplace.com
*Until June/2019 – Come From Away, extended a fourth time, a continuing Canadian/American hit – http://www.mirvish.com

<ONTARIO PREMIER DOUG FORD is making a list, and checking it twice, gonna find out whose funding to slice . . . “, editorial cartoon by GRAEME MACKAY, Hamilton Spectator, December 18/2018>

CANADA’s much stricter drunk driving laws take effect today, DECEMBER 18TH. Penalties are greatly increasing for drunk driving, and police powers are expanding to demand breath samples of one and all. At the same time, rules for drug-impaired driving go into effect. This is a wholesale change to the criminal code.

Changes to impaired driving laws will reduce the number of people who die in crashes caused by drunk drivers, predicts the head of Mothers Against Drunk Driving Canada.

Advertisements