DON JAIL PRISONERS ONCE FARMED RIVERDALE PARK EAST

RIVERDALE1

In 1856 the City of TORONTO purchased 119 acres east of the Don River, including the present-day park, for the building of the Don Jail.  The land, originally cultivated by John and Melicent Scadding, was then farmed by prisoners as part of a Victorian-era reform program.  The site opened as a park in 1880, and with the annexation of Riverdale in 1884, it was expanded to the west side of the river as well.  It’s a gem.

Riverdale Park East boasts the steepest tobogganing hill in downtown TORONTO.

Advertisements