WHAT’S ON IN TORONTO – MAY/2020 (CLICK ON WEBSITES FOR INFO – SOME SITES IN LOCKDOWN)

LARGE THEATRES
*Berkeley Street Theatre, 26 Berkeley Street, http://www.canadianstage.com
*Bluma Appel Theatre, 27 Front Street East, http://www.canadianstage.com
*CAA (formerly Panasonic) Theatre, 651 Yonge St., http://www.mirvish.com
*Elgin Theatre, 189 Yonge Street, http://www.ticketmaster.ca
*Fleck Dance Theatre, 207 Queens Quay W., http://www.harbourfrontcentre.com/venues/fleckdancetheatre/
*Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts (Opera House), 145 Queen St. W., http://www.coc.ca
*Princess of Wales Theatre, 300 King St. W., http://www.mirvish.com
*Royal Alexandra Theatre, 260 King St. W., http://www.mirvish.com
*Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, 1 Front St. E., http://www.sonycentre.ca
*Streetcar Crow’s Theatre, 345 Carlaw Av., http://www.crowstheatre.com
*St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts, 27 Front St. E., http://www.stlc.com
*Toronto Centre for the Arts, 5040 Yonge St., http://www.tocentre.com
*Winter Garden Theatre, 189 Yonge Street, http://www.ticketmaster.ca
*Young Centre for the Performing Arts, Distillery District, http://www.soulpepper.ca
*Young People’s Theatre, 165 Front Street East, https://tickets.youngpeoplestheatre.ca/TheatreManager/1/onlineMORE THEATRES
*Alumnae Theatre, 70 Berkeley Street, http://www.alumnaetheatre.com
*Bad Dog Comedy Theatre, 875 Bloor Street West, http://www.baddogtheatre.com
*Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 12 Alexander St., http://www.buddiesinbadtimes.com
*Cahoots Theatre Company, staging diversity, 388 Queen St. E., http://www.cahoots.ca
*Coal Mine Theatre, 1454 Danforth Av., http://www.coalminetheatre.com
*Factory Theatre, 125 Bathurst Street, http://www.factorytheatre.ca
*Hart House Theatre, 7 Hart House Circle, University of Toronto, http://harthouse.ca/hart-house-theatre/
*Lower Ossington Theatre, 100a Ossington Ave., http://www.lowerossingtontheatre.com
*MacMillan Theatre, Faculty of Music, University of Toronto, http://www.music.utoronto.ca
*National Ballet of Canada, Four Seasons Centre, 145 Queen Street West, https://national.ballet.ca
*Red Sandcastle Theatre, 922 Queen St. E., http://www.redsandcastletheatre.com
*Rose Theatre, 1 Theatre Lane, Brampton, Ontario, http://www.brampton.ca/sites/rose-theatre/en/Pages/Welcome.aspx
*Second City, sketch comedy theatre that’s launched many careers, 51 Mercer Street, http://www.secondcity.com
*Shaw Festival Theatres, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, https://www.shawfest.com/
*Stratford Festival Theatres, Stratford, Ontario, https://www.stratfordfestival.ca/WhatsOn/ThePlays?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIhqTVruSJ2QIVV7nACh2_pA41EAAYAyAAEgKAZ_D_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
*Storefront Theatre, 955 Bloor Street West, pushes creative boundaries, an original, http://www.thestorefronttheatre.com
*Tarragon Theatre, 30 Bridgman Ave., http://www.tarragontheatre.com
*Theatre Centre, 1115 Queen St. W., http://www.theatrecentre.org
*Theatre Passe Muraille, 16 Ryerson Avenue, http://www.passemuraille.on.ca
*Toronto Dance Theatre, 80 Winchester St., Cabbagetown, http://www.tdt.org
*Yuk Yuk’s Comedy Club, 224 Richmond St. West, https://www.yukyuks.com/torontoCONCERT HALLS
*Danforth Music Hall, 147 Danforth Av., http://www.thedanforth.com
*George Weston Recital Hall, 5040 Yonge Street, http://www.tocentre.com/theatres/george-weston-recital-hall
*Glenn Gould Studio, CBC Broadcasting Centre, 250 Front St. W., http://www.cbc.ca/glenngould
*Harbourfront Centre, 235 Queens Quay West, http://www.harbourfrontcentre.com
*Hugh’s Room, 2261 Dundas St. W., http://www.hughsroom.com
*Koerner Hall, 273 Bloor Street West, http://www.rcmusic.com
*Massey Hall, 178 Victoria Street, http://www.masseyhall.com
*Opera House, 735 Queen St. East, http://theoperahouse.ticketoffices.com/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI4P_S_OGJ2QIVlLjACh0D0QC9EAAYASAAEgJVj_D_BwE
*Roy Thomson Hall, 60 Simcoe Street, http://www.roythomson.com
*Trinity-St. Paul’s Centre, 427 Bloor St. W., http://www.trinitystpauls.caCENTRAL CITY CINEMAS
*Carlton, 9 screens, fully licensed, $5 Tuesdays, 20 Carlton Street, https://imaginecinemas.com
*Grand Gerrard Theatre, 1035 Gerrard St. East, independent, film screenings, live music, comedy, performance art, one of Toronto’s oldest cinemas, https://www.blogto.com/arts/2019/04/toronto-grand-gerrard-theatre/
*Hot Docs Ted Rogers, specializing in documentaries and films seldom shown in the multiplex, 506 Bloor Street West, https://www.cinemaclock.com/theatres/hot-docs-ted-rogers-cinema
*Market Square, 80 Front Street East, several screens, https://imaginecinemas.com/cinema/market-square/
*Mount Pleasant, 675 Mount Pleasant Road, big screen, 2nd run features, some European films, etc., https://www.cinemaclock.com/ont/toronto/theatres/mount-pleasant
*Ontario Science Centre Omnimax,770 Don Mills Road, https://www.ontariosciencecentre.ca/imax
*Paradise Cinema, 1006 Bloor Street West, newly restored, independent, an outstanding schedule of films old and new, https://paradiseonbloor.com/
*Regent, 551 Mount Pleasant Road, 2nd run features, big screen, https://www.cinemaclock.com/ont/toronto/theatres/regent
*Revue, 400 Roncesvalles Avenue, neighbourhood cinema, second-run, documentary & foreign features, http://www.revuecinema.ca
*Royal, documentaries, festivals, foreign, second-run features, 608 College Street, http://www.theroyal.to
*Scotiabank Toronto Imax (Cineplex), 259 Richmond Street West, multiplex & IMAX, 14 screens, http://www.imax.com/theatres/scotiabank-toronto-imax
*TIFF Bell Lightbox, 5 screens, movies that don’t play in the multiplex, for times and schedule go to http://www.tiff.net
*Varsity Cinemas (Cineplex), Manulife Centre, 55 Bloor Street West, 12 screens, https://www.cinemaclock.com/theatres/cineplex-varsity-vip
*Yonge-Dundas Cinemas (Cineplex), multiplex & IMAX, 26 screens, 10 Dundas Street East, http://www.imdb.com/showtimes/cinema/CA/ci25232552/CA/M6M1W6
******Complete movie times, Toronto cinemas, reviews, from NOW Magazine, a handy address – http://movies.nowtoronto.com/#/nowplaying
MUSEUMS IN & AROUND TORONTO
*Aga Khan Museum, 77 Wynford Drive, http://www.agakhanmuseum.org
*Art Gallery of Hamilton, 123 King St. West, Hamilton, http://www.artgalleryofhamilton.com
*Art Gallery of Mississauga, http://www.artgalleryofmississauga.com
*Art Gallery of Ontario, 317 Dundas Street West, http://www.ago.ca
*Bata Shoe Museum, only two in the world, 327 Bloor St. West, http://www.batashoemuseum.ca
*Black Creek Pioneer Village, heritage museum, partly outdoors, 1000 Murray Ross Parkway, http://www.blackcreek.ca
*Casa Loma, 1 Austin Terrace, Toronto’s castle, http://www.casaloma.ca
*Fort York National Historic Site, 250 Fort York Boulevard, http://www.fortyork.ca
*Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Arts, 111 Queen’s Park, http://www.gardinermuseum.on.ca
*Hockey Hall of Fame, 30 Yonge Street, http://www.hhof.com
*Justina M. Barnicke Gallery, University of Toronto, 7 Hart House Circle, http://www.arts.utoronto.ca/galleries.htm
*Mackenzie House Museum, 82 Bond Street, interprets Victorian life of the 1860’s, 416-302-6915
*McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Kleinburg, http://www.mcmichael.com
*Metropolitan Toronto Police Museum & Discovery Centre, 40 College St., http://www.torontopolice.on.ca/museum
*MZTV Museum of Television, 64 Jefferson Ave., Liberty Village, http://www.mztv.com
*Ontario Science Centre, 770 Don Mills Road, http://www.ontariosciencecentre.ca
*Power Plant, Harbourfront Centre, 231 Queens Quay West, free, http://www.thepowerplant.org
*Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada Museum & Archives, https://www.qormuseum.org
*Royal Ontario Museum, 100 Queens Park, http://www.rom.on.ca
*Ryerson Image Centre (RIC), 33 Gould Street, large photography gallery, free admission, http://www.ryersonimagecentre.ca
*Spadina House Museum and gardens, 235 Spadina Rd., 416-392-6910, https://www.toronto.ca/explore-enjoy/history-art-culture/museums/spadina-museum/
*Textile Museum of Canada, 55 Centre Street, http://www.textilemuseum.ca
*Varley Art Gallery of Markham, 216 Main Street, Markham, http://www.varleygallery.caCITY CENTRE ART GALLERIES
*A Space, established contemporary, 401 Richmond St. West, http://www.aspacegallery.org
*Barbara Edwards Contemporary, 1069 Bathurst Street, http://www.becontemporary.com
*Bay of Spirits, 156 Front St. West, First Nations art, http://www.bayofspirits.com
*Canadian Sculpture Centre, 500 Church Street, http://www.cansculpt.org
*Christopher Cutts, 21 Morrow Avenue, http://www.cuttsgallery.com
*Clint Roenisch, 190 St. Helens Avenue, contemporary, avant-garde, http://www.clintroenisch.com
*Corkin Gallery, 7 Tank House Lane, Distillery District, http://www.corkingallery.com
*Daniel Faria, contemporary, converted warehouse, 188 St. Helens Avenue, http://www.danielfariagallery.com
*Diaz Contemporary, 100 Niagara Street, http://www.diazcontemporary.ca
*Koffler Gallery, Artscape Youngplace, 180 Shaw Street, http://www.kofflerarts.org
*Mercer Union, contemporary art, 1286 Bloor St. West, http://www.mercerunion.org
*Mira Godard, 22 Hazelton Avenue, long-established, Canadian & international artists, http://www.godardgallery.com
*Olga Korper, 17 Morrow Avenue, long-established, http://www.olgakorpergallery.com
*Propeller Centre for the Visual Arts, 30 Abell Street, founded in 1996, http://www.propellerctr.com
*Sandra Ainsley, 100 Sunrise Avenue #150, leading dealer in contemporary glass, http://www.sandraainsleygallery.com
*Stephen Bulger, 1356 Dundas St. West, long-established photography gallery, http://www.bulgergallery.com
*Thompson Landry Gallery, 32 Distillery Lane, Distillery District, specializes in Quebec art, both contemporary & the masters, http://www.thompsonlandry.comLGBTQ COMMUNITY INFO
*(ArQuives), formerly the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, 2nd largest in the world, 34 Isabella Street, http://www.clga.ca
*Legit, 2nd Thursday monthly, immigration legal counsel, 519 Centre, 519 Church Street, http://www.legit.ca
*Metropolitan Community Church (MCC), 115 Simpson Avenue, just above Gerrard St. East, http://www.mcctoronto.com
*Out and Out, LGBTQ outdoors club, http://www.outandout.ca
*Pink Pages, gay, lesbian, trans, bi, leather, queer directory, http://www.thepinkpagesdirectory.com
*ProudFM 103.9, Toronto’s LGBTQ radio station, http://www.proudfm.com
*Rainbow Railroad, a charity which helps individuals in countries where being LGBTQ invites violence, imprisonment or even death, http://www.rainbowrailroad.ca
*Righteously Outrageous Twirling Corps, http://www.rotctoronto.com
*Xtra magazine, gay news from Toronto, Vancouver & Ottawa, http://www.xtra.ca/toronto.aspx<PRACTICING SOCIAL DISTANCING, editorial cartoon by GRAEME MACKAY, Hamilton Spectator, May 28, 2020><TORSTAR (Toronto Star, Saturday Star) has been sold to NorStar Capital for $52-million. “It has fulfilled a vital civic role,” said entrepreneur Paul Rivitt. The torch is being passed. – Toronto Star, May 27/2020><Government Covid-19 numbers relayed by TVOntario, May 27 at 4:09 pm – There are 26,483 cases in ONTARIO, an increase of 292; 847 people are in hospital, 150 of them in intensive care and 117 on ventilators. To date, 2,155 people have died. There are 199 outbreaks in long-term-care facilities, 4,936 confirmed cases in residents and 1,721 confirmed cases in staff. To date, there have been 1,352 confirmed resident deaths and four confirmed staff deaths. Barbara Yaffe, the associate chief medical officer of health, said today that 51 retirement homes are in outbreak and that 189 residents have died.><Government numbers for Greater Toronto, May 27 at 4:09 pm – There are 9,835 cases in TORONTO, 391 of them in hospital and 94 in intensive care. To date, there have been 139 institutional outbreaks. In total, 750 people have died.><Trump is furious as Twitter labels him ‘fake news’. It’s about time. The social media titan took the unprecedented step of labelling as misinformation two of his tweets about mail-in ballots setting the stage for a “rigged election”. Way to go, Tweet! – front page New York Post, May 27/2020>

ROSEDALE, SETTLED IN 1820, IS TORONTO’S VERSION OF LONDON’S HAMPSTEAD – BUT WITH RAVINES

‘R’ is for Rosedale, proclaims a condo billboard along the frontier of one of TORONTO’s oldest inner suburbs and one of its wealthiest.The subway and two bus lines run through the neighbourhood.  8,000 live within its precinct, and there’s plenty of ‘Old Money’ around.Rosedale is crisscrossed by three ravines, and its streets go uphill and downdale.  It’s a wonderful place to walk, run and bicycle; the gardens and trees are gorgeous, and there are few fences or barricades.You can get lost in here, but the locals are quite friendly and helpful.Within the neighbourhood it’s all houses, parks, gardens, bridges, ravines – and one small row of shops where refreshments are available.Rosedale’s main street is Yonge Street.
  Subway stop – ROSEDALE, and then walk or take Bus #82; or Subway stop – SHERBOURNE, and then Bus #75