This sign once marked the entranceway to CINECYCLE’s first location, from 1991 to 1995, behind 217 Spadina Avenue. The bicycle was built by Leo Stonetsky using 16mm film reels for the wheels, and the photo was taken by John Porter.
CINECYCLE’s founder and director, MARTIN HEATH, is the recipient of the Tom Berner Award for “providing extraordinary support to the cause of independent film making in TORONTO.” A former print maker, film handler and projectionist, Martin is a longtime supporter of the city’s music scene.
Martin’s personal projects have included a 100-minute film “The Son of Tutti Frutti” which played weekly at TORONTO’s Roxy Cinema in 1972; an inflatable Mobile Cinema which toured Ontario for 3 summers (1976-1978); and his collection of 2,000 films and 50 projectors.
Through the years, CineCycle’s coach house address, behind 129 Spadina Avenue, was once a stable, home to a fine fur company, and a sweat shop. The “work to rule” graffiti is from a worker’s action that took place here in the 1930’s.
Bike repairs are by appointment; films are screened on an irregular schedule For a fascinating history of CINECYCLE and its founder, as well as a screening schedule go to http://www.super8porter.ca/CineCycle.htm