After a decade of negotiating and restoring, TORONTO’s iconic Sam the Record Man sign is back in business. The sign means a lot to local and out-of-town music lovers who crowded in to Sam Sniderman’s store daily. On weekends, the place was often packed, and Sam himself would be there to keep things moving.
Sam opened his music shop in 1959, and later other branches across the country. The main store closed its doors in 2007, and the property was purchased by Ryerson University. Promises were made to restore the sign – and Ryerson has now followed through. <PHOTO ABOVE – blogto>
Visitors to Yonge & Dundas Square can now look up to Sam’s spinning discs on top of a TORONTO Public Health building.