A short walk from Bloor Street’s fancy shopping is a TORONTO gem – but it’s not nearly as old as it looks. University of Trinity College, 6 Hoskin Avenue, is one of the smallest colleges (1600 students) within the University of Toronto. Founded by Anglican Bishop John Strachan in 1827, it was federated into the secular University under government pressure, in 1904. Originally in Trinity-Bellwoods Park on Queen Street West, the present campus was erected between 1925 and 1961. The chapel, built in 1955, was a gift from Salada Tea CEO Gerald Larkin. Trinity combines elements of Gothic Revival, Jacobethan and Tudor Revival architecture.Subway stop: WELLESLEY, and then westbound Bus #94 to Hoskin Avenue, or Subway stop: MUSEUM, then walk west half a block, and south down Philosopher’s Walk.
Monthly Archives: November 2010
FLYING OVER CENTENNIAL PARK – APRIL 18, 1982 – CITY OF TORONTO ARCHIVES
Toronto’s Santa Claus Parade is 108 years old!
TORONTO’s Santa Claus Parade, founded by Eaton’s Department Store in 1905, is one of the largest Christmas parades in the world. The outdoor spectacular attracts hundreds of thousands every year – in person, and on US and Canadian television. Photos from the 1920’s, 30’s, 60’s, 2009 – Ontario Archives